When You’re Feeling Blue, Think Yellow

A friend once told me, “If you’re having a bad day, look at the customer reviews for banana slicers on Amazon.” Now, I’m not having a bad day, but the idea that banana slicers are a thing was too intriguing not to take a peek. While a few (most… I hope most) are a joke, here’s a few I found that I hope will brighten your day!

“I tried the banana slicer and found it unacceptable. As shown in the picture, the slices is curved from left to right. All of my bananas are bent the other way.”

“There is no way to tell if this is a standard or metric banana slicer. Additional markings on it would help greatly.”

“This banana slicer is perfectly adequate and much cheaper than the top-of-the-line Huntzler 521, but I feel that the quality of the banana-slicing experience is not worth sacrificing for the cheaper price. What a dream it is to slice bananas with the Huntzler! This banana slicer leaves me feeling hollow and empty, without the deep satisfaction I feel from using my Huntzler 521 (or 520 or the classic 324).
I suppose I could use this one when I go camping, or any other situation where I need sliced bananas but am afraid of losing my Huntzler.”

“Sure this slicer LOOKS like the Hutzler 571 … but it’s not. The slices are very uneven and it doesn’t slice bananas that bend to the left. Spend the extra money and get the Hutzler. The sorrow and aggravation you’ll experience with these cheap knock-offs aren’t worth the few dollars you might save. Take it from someone who’s tried them ALL.”

“What can I say about the 571B Banana Slicer that hasn’t already been said about the wheel, penicillin, or the iPhone…. this is one of the greatest inventions of all time. My husband and I would argue constantly over who had to cut the day’s banana slices. It’s one of those chores NO ONE wants to do! You know, the old “I spent the entire day rearing OUR children, maybe YOU can pitch in a little and cut these bananas?” and of course, “You think I have the energy to slave over your damn bananas? I worked a 12 hour shift just to come home to THIS?!” These are the things that can destroy an entire relationship. It got to the point where our children could sense the tension. The minute I heard our 6-year-old girl in her bedroom, re-enacting our daily banana fight with her Barbie dolls, I knew we had to make a change. That’s when I found the 571B Banana Slicer. Our marriage has never been healthier! THANKS 571B BANANA SLICER!”

Leave a Reply

