Oh Cabbage. Oh Lowly Cabbage

written by Brooke Porch, customer service associate

Oh cabbage. Oh lowly cabbage. How I love thee…

I’m not even joking! Cabbage is fantastic and with a little kitchen wizardry it can be be transformed and elevated to an almost divine substance. (Perhaps that’s the real reason that the commonly eaten cultivars of the Brassicaceae family are also called “cruciferous” (or “cross-bearing” vegetables).

But I digress. Although it is often overlooked by its fancier cousins broccoli and Brussels sprouts (not to mention its much fancier cousin kale), cabbage has a lot to offer. Like other members of its cultivar family, cabbage is a nutritional powerhouse, high in fiber, vitamin K and vitamin C. It is also a good source of folate and B-6.

There are many ways to prepare this burly Belgium blossom, but the following method is my favorite. I typically make a large amount. Partly because even “small” cabbages are pretty big but mostly because I like to have the leftovers. I eat it with anything, but I think it is especially good with roasted chicken and roasted potatoes (my all-time favorite fall/winter meal). Because I make so much, I use my largest stock pot to cook this.

You will need:

* Cabbage (I like two use one head each of red and green cabbage)

* Onions, etc. Any kind will do. I like to use a large yellow onion, a big red onion and a few shallots.

* Celery (2-3 stalks).

* Carrots (2-3)

* Garlic (one entire head—its good for ya!)

* Ginger (optional, I guess, but I like it)

* Apple (just one. Adds a little sweetness)

* Apple cider (if you like a bit more sweetness)

* Vinegar (1-2 T)

* Oil

* Salt & Pepper

* Herbs

1. Chop onions, celery, carrots. Mince ginger and onion.

2. Cut cabbage heads into quarters. Cut out the core. Chop FINELY. No thicker than ¼ inch. In my experience, the thinner you chop it, the better.

3. Cook onions, etc over medium heat (covered) in plenty of olive oil with a good amount of salt until the onions begin to become translucent (about 5 min)., stirring occasionally. Add garlic, apple and onion, and stir. Cook 1-2 more minutes.

4. Splash in some vinegar (apple cider, white wine—avoid balsamic and other vinegars with sugar)

5. Reduce heat to medium-low and add the cabbage in batches, stirring it so that everything is mixed together and the cabbage gets a bit of oil on it.

6. Cover and begin the waiting game. All that cabbage (probably several pounds) is going take a while to get hot. Be patient and just let the stove do its work. Eventually, it will get hot and the water will be released by the cabbage. Keep it covered so it can cook in its own broth.

7. I typically cook my cabbage for at least an hour (sometimes longer) at a medium-low heat. When it is about 20 minutes from being done, I might add some apple cider for the sweetness. Remove cover to let some of the water evaporate, which will concentrate the flavors.

8. Enjoy!

cabbage

Leave a Reply

